Channel, Malleable Symbol, and the Cleric: included or not?


Rules Questions


Hello boards, I have a question for you (for which I haven't found an answer here already).

Cleric's Channel energy ability says "A cleric can choose whether or not to include herself in this effect." - note that it doesn't mention "area", only "effect".

Malleable Symbol's description says "alter the channel area to [...] 10-foot burst centered anywhere within 30 feet" - the cleric could be outside of the Channel's area.

I would rule that the cleric cannot be included in the effect, but I have some rules-lawyering pals who'd say otherwise. Except for the obvious "ask your GM", what do you think?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I think it's pretty clear that the cleric has to be in the area of effect in order to choose whether or not to be affected by it.

From a "logic" standpoint, sure they have a valid alternate reading, but tell them to stop being silly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Channel, Malleable Symbol, and the Cleric: included or not? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions