Interaction with weapon attacks, natural attacks, polymorphs, (and Spell Combat)


Rules Questions


So, I want to make sure my maths and rules are correct.

Assume: wrote:

8th Level Magus

20 STR
Weapon Focus Longsword
Longsword +2

Magus casts Monstrous Physique I to turn into a Gargoyle.

His gear resizes (making room for the wings and bulgier muscles).
Now with a 22 STR, and natural attacks...

Does he get +15/+10 sword, +7 claw, +7 bite, +7 gore with a full attack?

Maths wrote:

6(BAB)+6(STR)+2(weapon)+1(focus) = 15 (-5 for iterate attack)

6(BAB)+6(STR)-5(Primary natural attack becomes Secondary when used along side weapon attacks)

If he chooses to cast a spell with Spell Combat, he would lose the claw attack (free hand), but would he retain the bite and gore? All attacks would be at -2 (13/8,5,5,Spell) where Spell could be a touch attack allowing a Spellstrike of +13 (or touch of +10)? Is that correct?


Full attack: That looks right, unless he chooses to two-hand the longsword.

Spell Combat: It is not. Spell Combat only works with hand-based attacks. You need to take the Natural Spell Combat arcana for it to include a Bite or Gore attack (and take it twice for both).


kestral287 wrote:

Full attack: That looks right, unless he chooses to two-hand the longsword.

Spell Combat: It is not. Spell Combat only works with hand-based attacks. You need to take the Natural Spell Combat arcana for it to include a Bite or Gore attack (and take it twice for both).

Awesome! Thanks.


Not a problem.


kestral287 wrote:

Full attack: That looks right, unless he chooses to two-hand the longsword.

Spell Combat: It is not. Spell Combat only works with hand-based attacks. You need to take the Natural Spell Combat arcana for it to include a Bite or Gore attack (and take it twice for both).

This is not exactly right. You need to take Natural Spell Combat to even use claw attacks at all during spell combat.

Reprinting the exact text for Natural Spell Combat here:

"The magus can use his spell combat class feature with a natural attack of his choice. If he does, he gains a +2 bonus on concentration checks. If the natural attack is made with an appendage that would normally hold a weapon (such as a claw attack), the magus cannot wield a weapon in that appendage while making natural attacks with it. If the natural attack is a bite or other attack that does not require a free appendage to make, the magus can use the natural attack in addition to all of the attacks he could make with his melee weapon, if he has one. A magus can select this arcana more than once. The bonus on concentration checks does not stack. Each time he selects this arcana, he selects another natural weapon. For example, a magus could select this arcana twice, choosing claw attacks and bite attacks. This would allow him to use a full-round action to make all of his claw attacks with his free hand and all of his bite attacks in addition to casting a spell. This arcana otherwise functions exactly like the spell combat class feature."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Interaction with weapon attacks, natural attacks, polymorphs, (and Spell Combat) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions