Universal Monster Rule: Trample (Ex) and movement allowance


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Okay, I've been digging around on the rules forum but I cannot find a clear answer.

Question 1:
How far can a creature move when using the full round action monster universal rule Trample (Ex)?

Can it only move up to it's speed, or can it move up to double it's speed in a straight line?

Trample (Ex):
As a full-round action, a creature with the trample ability can attempt to overrun any creature that is at least one size category smaller than itself. This works just like the overrun combat maneuver, but the trampling creature does not need to make a check, it merely has to move over opponents in its path. Targets of a trample take an amount of damage equal to the trampling creature's slam damage + 1-1/2 times its Str modifier. Targets of a trample can make an attack of opportunity, but at a –4 penalty. If targets forgo an attack of opportunity, they can attempt to avoid the trampling creature and receive a Reflex save to take half damage. The save DC against a creature's trample attack is 10 + 1/2 creature's HD + creature's Str modifier (the exact DC is given in the creature's descriptive text). A trampling creature can only deal trampling damage to each target once per round, no matter how many times its movement takes it over a target creature.

Format: trample (2d6+9, DC 20); Location: Special Attacks.


Overrun:
As a standard action, taken during your move or as part of a charge, you can attempt to overrun your target, moving through its square. You can only overrun an opponent who is no more than one size category larger than you. If you do not have the Improved Overrun feat, or a similar ability, initiating an overrun provokes an attack of opportunity from the target of your maneuver. If your overrun attempt fails, you stop in the space directly in front of the opponent, or the nearest open space in front of the creature if there are other creatures occupying that space.

When you attempt to overrun a target, it can choose to avoid you, allowing you to pass through its square without requiring an attack. If your target does not avoid you, make a combat maneuver check as normal. If your maneuver is successful, you move through the target's space. If your attack exceeds your opponent's CMD by 5 or more, you move through the target's space and the target is knocked prone. If the target has more than two legs, add +2 to the DC of the combat maneuver attack roll for each additional leg it has.

I'm confused because of the action economy here. Overrun itself as combat maneuver is a standard action taken during a move action or as part of a charge. Trample uses a full-round action.

Charge is also a full-round action, so the way I'm reading it is that it cannot be combined with the universal monster trample ability, but does the wording of the overrun combat maneuver allow you to use the movement allowed by a charge for the trample? As in, no difficult terrain and in a straight line but double your normal move.

My PFS hunter has just reached level 7, and her mammoth companion has gained the trample ability. Because I've got the mammoth wearing fullplate it's speed is only 30 ft. Does she move 30 or 60 ft while using the trample ability?

Question 2:
How many attacks of oppertunity does it provoke?
I'm going for 2 myself:
One from the trample at a -4 (or foregoing it for a reflex save for half damage) and one from moving, so two total per creature being trampled?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Let me see...

Trample is a full-round action that adds a "rider effect" to overrun.

Overrun is a standard action taken during a move, or (essentially) a free action that may be taken as part of a charge.

Nothing in trample says that it interferes with your overrun options, so...

Wow, yeah, that's weird.

My read is that trample can be done on a charge (there's some weirdness about how charging normally stops you in the first square from which you can strike the target, but I think overrun bypasses that restriction to allow you to, well, overrun them instead of stopping).

So, your mammoth can choose to Trample (full-round action), move up to 30 ft, and will provoke from leaving threatened squares from all enemies and for not having improved overrun for the target.

OR: Trample (full-round action), move up to 60 ft (restricted as per charging), gain charge modifiers (lower AC and higher damage) and will provoke from leaving threatened squares from all enemies and for not having improved overrun for the target.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Society Subscriber

Mostly what I was thinking as well, except for getting the charge modifiers. Where are you getting higher damage from a charge from by the way? Trample is simply damage to all enemies who get a save for half if they forgo the attack of oppertunity from the overrun.

Another point of concern is/was the fact that with overrun you can make people prone if your CMB check is high enough, but since you don't make a check with trample I am unsure whether they go prone or not.

I'm going to play on safe with that and ask the GM up front. RAW it would seem that they don't go prone because you don't make a check and thus can't beat it by 5.


Damanta wrote:


I'm going to play on safe with that and ask the GM up front. RAW it would seem that they don't go prone because you don't make a check and thus can't beat it by 5.

This. It was brought up a few times when a certain beast showed up in a PFS scenario and this was the response we got.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Universal Monster Rule: Trample (Ex) and movement allowance All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions