Revealing a card for the location effect


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Hiho,

does revealing an (for example) ally, adding 1d4 to your check as per the location, count as your one card of that type for the entire check?

(Sorry, I can't remember the specific location where this question came up... I think it was in the first scenario in adventure #2.)

Thanks,
Olav


Yes since revealing counts as playing the card, just like discarding, diplaying, recharching, burying...


So, if the location said "discard a card for a 1d4 bonus" the type of the discarded card would matter, as I wouldn't be allowed to play another card of that type in this check?

Thanks,
Olav


Frencois wrote:
Yes since revealing counts as playing the card, just like discarding, diplaying, recharching, burying...

I disagree. Revealing a card to use a power on the card is playing the card. Revealing a card to use a power on the location is not playing the card. Just like when Seoni discards a card to throw a fireball, she hasn't played that card; or when RotR Lini reveals an animal ally to use her self-buff, she hasn't played the ally.


S&S Rulebook p9 wrote:
Doing something with a card that does not use a power on that card does not count as playing that card.

So if a location says "Reveal an ally to add 1d4 to your check" you aren't playing the ally when you do that.

Sovereign Court

Frencois wrote:
Yes since revealing counts as playing the card, just like discarding, diplaying, recharching, burying...

Elcoder is correct. Revealing a card for a location power is not playing the card. If you are not using a card's power, you are not playing it.


Ooops you are right. I didn't undestand the question correctly.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Revealing a card for the location effect All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion