Does Intimidate provoke an Attack of Opportunity?


Rules Questions


Question is in the subject. All I've got to go on is that "use skill that takes 1 action -- Usually" entry in the combat section in the table "Actions in Combat".


How do you intimidate? Display your prowess with your weapon by showing a fancy move? Probably. Glare and say "move and you die"? Probably not. So... depends. :-)

/cevah


Ssyvan wrote:
Question is in the subject. All I've got to go on is that "use skill that takes 1 action -- Usually" entry in the combat section in the table "Actions in Combat".

Good rule of thumb is read the skill. If it does not say doing so provokes when used in combat then it does not.


Is it a good rule of thumb? There are no skills that say they provoke. There is 1 skill that says failure to pass the check provokes (acrobatics). There are 2 skills that say they do not provoke (fly, sleight of hand). (According to the Acrobat search feature).

Yet the chart on P183 of the CRB does state "Use skill that takes 1 action | Usually"

So, if no skill specifically states that it provokes, what are the skills that "usually" provoke?


Further murking the waters is that using Heal to stabilize a creature is specifically called out as provoking in the table I mentioned (rather than in the skill as Acrobatics is).

I was hoping this was already covered somewhere, but I like Cevah's interpretation so I'll likely go with that. =)

Thanks everyone!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Intimidate provoke an Attack of Opportunity? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions