If undefeated (RotR) question


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I had a question last night as I was playing. How does monster "if undefeated" damage work with regular combat damage? I was playing it that you take the combat damage (from failing the check) and then take the additional damage from the likes of Plague Zombie ("if undefeated, take constitution check and take 1d4(?) acid damage if fail". In past games, though, I think I took this damage instead of the combat damage. Cruising the forums confirms that the first scenario is correct for the plague zombie. There was another card (that I can't recall right now, sorry) that said "instead of damage, discard the top card of your deck" or something like that. In this case, do I take the combat damage first? If so, what's the point of "instead of" clause? Intuitively, I would not take the original combat damage in this case, but that doesn't fit with the "finish the check" timeline.

Thanks.


If it says "instead of" then don't take the combat damage for failing the check. If it doesn't say instead of, then you take the combat damage and whatever else it does.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / If undefeated (RotR) question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion