Animal Shamans and Templates


Rules Questions


Two rules questions that have come up in my game on the animal shamans. (Saurian, Eagle, Bear shaman et al.)

1. Can a creature have the same template more than once? Can a creature given the advanced template via the animal shaman archetype's abilities also be given the advanced template by Atavism?

2. Can a shaman apply both the young template and the advanced or giant template to a summon, resulting in no change of level? RAW, it seems very clear that they can apply the young template, and also apply another template. Obviously, this yields some considerable advantages with no downsides.

Relevant text:

Advanced Player's Guide wrote:
She can apply the young template to any bear to reduce the level of the summoning spell required by one. She can also increase the level of summoning required by one in order to apply either the advanced or the giant template, or increase it by two to apply both the advanced and giant templates.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

i think the thread i posted in was deleted.

simplified

1) multiple of the same template can be on the same creature, but their bonuses do not stack as they are from the same source.

2) up to GM, don't see anything permitting or restricting it.


Sorry, it sent multiple topics as the site went down around the time I submitted it. I deleted the extras which you might have posted in.

1. A reasonable viewpoint. I know 'same source' rule has spawned a lot of discussion in the past, but that's as good an answer as any for my player.

2. I am the GM. Most likely I can handle the balance implications either way, but I'm legitimately curious as to whether or not it's possible. It seems to me to be a legitimate technique I'd never noticed.

Thanks for your opinion!

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you are telling me you want to do a Young + Advanced Bear, I'm telling you no.

;-)

Grand Lodge

Yep, you may add 2 templates to your summons via the Animal Shamans. This also means you can get a Young Advanced Bear/Eagle/Cat etc for the same cost as a normal Bear/Eagle/Cat off of SNA.

Depending on the creature, this can even be a better option then Giant+Advanced.

Sczarni

The way the archetype is worded allows you to apply the Advanced and Giant templates to the same summons, but not the Young template and another template.

So, as James said, no Young Advanced <critter>.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Animal Shamans and Templates All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.