Favored card types


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


I've gotten some varied opinions on the following: if it says more than one card type for your favored card type (such as Seltyiel in S&S with 'weapon or spell' listed), do you have choose one of them or you can either of them in your starting hand?

I've always played it as having to choose one of the two, just as if you have to choose one if it said 'any'. But after looking at it, I thought, perhaps it means you can have either. Like I mentioned, I got varied opinions and I can't for the life of me find the answer in the manual (if it's there) and didn't see that asked on these boards (that I could see).


S&S Rulebook p7 wrote:
Draw Starting Hands The character card also lists a favored card type; if more than one is listed, choose 1 type before drawing.

So, before he draws, Seltyiel decides whether he wants Weapon or Spell. If he chooses Weapon and draws a hand with a spell, but no weapon, he has to draw again until he gets at least 1 weapon.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
S&S Rulebook p7 wrote:
Draw Starting Hands The character card also lists a favored card type; if more than one is listed, choose 1 type before drawing.
So, before he draws, Seltyiel decides whether he wants Weapon or Spell. If he chooses Weapon and draws a hand with a spell, but no weapon, he has to draw again until he gets at least 1 weapon.

Wow, how did I miss that? I read it but apparently my brain isn't working properly! Thanks Hawk, much appreciated.


You are most welcome. I actually missed it too on my first read through.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Favored card types All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion