RotR Base - Merisiel Revealing a Weapon and then using Character Power


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


A (hopefully) quick question - is it allowed for Merisiel to reveal a weapon for a combat check, then discard/recharge this same card for her character power for the 1(2)d6 within the same check?

Ie, encounter a Zombie, reveal a dagger to get 1d12+1d4, then discard this card for 2d6 from her character power before performing the combat roll.

I want to say this isn't permitted, but I ran across a thread about Lini doing a similar thing (reveal ally for 1d4 then discard for card power).

Quote:
Quote:

Youperguy wrote:

For Lini's power:

You may reveal an ally with the Animal trait to add 1d4 ( +1) ( +2) to your check.

Can she use this power and then play an ally on the same check? Or does this count as her Ally play for the turn?

Rules wrote:

Playing a card means activating a card’s power by revealing, displaying, discarding, recharging, burying, or banishing the card.

When you reveal the ally to trigger Lini's power, you're not actually *playing* the ally—its own power is not being activated. You can still play an ally on the check. (It can even be the one you revealed to activate Lini's power!)

Source


I would say yes, you can reveal the dagger, put it back in your hand and then discard it for Merisiel's power. The second time your not actually playing the card.


Jones is correct, and for the correct reason.


Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / RotR Base - Merisiel Revealing a Weapon and then using Character Power All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion