Attach - is this how it works?


Rules Questions


Hi Everyone,

I'm working on a grappling build for PFS and trying to decide between a crab or giant leech. But, I am a bit confused on the leech's "attach" special quality.

According to the SRD, Attach says wrote:


The creature automatically latches onto its target when it successfully makes the listed attack. The creature is considered grappling, but the target is not. The target can attack or grapple the creature as normal, or break the attach with a successful grapple or Escape Artist check. Most creatures with this ability have a racial bonus to maintain a grapple (listed in its CMB entry).

I think attach gives an automatic grapple on a successful attack, but, the text seems contradictory to me (see bolded text). I'm not sure why the target would need to break a grapple if this was not the case.

Or, is attach simply a way for the leech to use their blood drain? And, how useful would this be with a grappling build compared to the crab with the grab ability?

Thanks!


Lets see if this helps

The leech automatically latches onto the goblin when it successfully makes the bite attack.

The leech is considered grappling, but the Goblin is not.

The Goblin can attack or grapple the leech as normal, or break the attach with a successful grapple or Escape Artist check.


So what benefit does Attach give the leech if it does not grapple the goblin?


It isn't an automatic in the sense that the target isn't considered grappled so you can't really do many grappling related things because only the attached creature gains the condition. Grab is better for your build here I believe.


Attach allows the leach to blood drain, normally a creature with attach has some other ability that uses it.


Amrel wrote:
Attach allows the leach to blood drain, normally a creature with attach has some other ability that uses it.

Thanks. That's what I thought.


Another great creature besides the leach are stirges. They have attach as well and deal 1 unsaveable con damage at the end of their turn.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attach - is this how it works? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions