Overrun AoOs?


Rules Questions


Hello,
Is there a consensus on how attacks of opportunity work with overrun? Does taking improved overrun protect you from all AoO's from moving through threatened squares during the overrun?
Or does it prevent the target from attacking you, but other people can?
Or does it just mean that the target doesn't get an extra AoO on you for doing the overrun manuever, but he still gets any AoOs on you from moving out of squares he threatens?

For instance:

Human A starts out 15' away and is overruning human B.
1) if A doesn't have improved overrun...does he provoke one AoO, or two (one for moving out of a threatened square, one for initiating the maneuver))?

Now say that A has improved overrun.

2) does A provoke one AoO, for moving through a square that B threatens, on the way to overrun him?
3) If B has a reach weapon, does A provoke now?
4) If B is standing next to ally C, and A moves through C's threatened area as part of his overrun of B, does A provoke from C?

Say that A is also a barbarian with overbearing onslaught (or whatever it is that lets him overrun a bunch of guys), in addition to improved overrun.

5) A overruns a bunch of guys, say, B,C,D. Does he provoke from any or all of them?
6) Does he provoke from them if they have reach weapons?
7) if A moves through E's threatened area as part of the overrun, but doesn't overrun E (only BCD), does A provoke from E?
8) If the overrun fails somewhere along the line, does he provoke then?

9) If A provokes as a result of movement, does that apply a penalty to his overrun CMB check (like it would if he provoked as a result of initiating the maneuver, e.g. if he didn't have improved overrun?)

It seems like it would be decent, and unusual, to make a barbarian (with greater overrun, combat reflexes, maybe spiked destroyer, etc) who just sort of runs around through all of the bad guys knocking them down, like the Tasmanian Devil or something. But, it's unclear (at least to me) whether that would provoke N AoOs, or 2N AoOs, or what. If it does provoke from everybody, then overbearing onslaught is sort of not very good (Though I suppose it could work, sort of, with Come and Get Me...can an AoO provoke another AoO?).

Thanks.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Improved Overrun protects only from the AoO that would be provoked from the target during the standard action part of an overrun (see combat maneuver overrun). It does not protect from AoOs due to movement up to that point (or after).

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

And that's why very few characters (or their mounts) invest much in getting good at Overrun. You can spend feats to eliminate AoOs from the actual Overrun attempt, but you still eat AoOs for the movement getting in position to overrun. Which makes Overrun a questionable tactic, at best. Player characters set up to gather AoOs generally love it when foes try to overrun, because of the AoOs provoked by the movement.

Here's a trick: if both Rider and Mount take the Teamwork feat Escape Route then they can move around together at will and never provoke another AoO from movement. One would still need to invest a lot to be good at the Overrun tactic, and the payoff is usually not worth it.

Scarab Sages

Magda Luckbender wrote:


Here's a trick: if both Rider and Mount take the Teamwork feat Escape Route then they can move around together at will and never provoke another AoO from movement. One would still need to invest a lot to be good at the Overrun tactic, and the payoff is usually not worth it.

Thank you! That will come in handy if I ever get around to making a hunter/sacred huntmaster.


hmm, ok. I guess that does make sense. It is sort of too bad that way, but it would be too good the other way.
I guess you could try to tumble while you're overruning the guys? or maybe take mobility? yeah, i think neither of these would work very well. Ah well, tasmanian devil barbarian will have to wait.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Overrun AoOs? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.