The Nuclear Option (AKA using RAW to destroy the Mask) (Spoilers Obv)


Mummy's Mask

Scarab Sages

OK, so we're currently researching the Mask and Hakotep in Tephu, and one of my players as notified me of his character's last resort option: poke a hole into the bag of holding that the Mask is being kept in, effectively destroying it.

I run into 2 conundrums as a GM with this possibility.
1) The non specificity of a bag of holding. We know what happens to stuff when the whole Astral stuff happens with a portable hole. What actually happens to the stuff when the bag is popped and its contents are "lost forever?" Does the destruction of the non-dimensional space that contains the Mask obliterate everything within the space including the Mask? Does the specific indestructibility from the Mask's major artifactness somehow supersede the destruction of its 'space' and it pop back out in the Material (or per the secret chest spell used to make the bag the Ethereal)?

2) If the Nuclear Option were to somehow work, how would Hakotep's body react with just the ba and the ka? When Nebta burned the ka-pulse and destroyed his own ka, he became quite the megalomaniac zombie army maker hell-bent on the next Geb-like empire. Would the quasi-zombie body go on a rage and power-lust filled destruction spree across Osirion without the tactical restraint that his mind has exercised through the FP cult? Would he return to a living body, mindlessly bumping up against the lid of his sarcophagus until it starved back to death? Would he be a living, breathing Hakotep (reuniting his essence and his self), but devoid of any emotion, desires or will? Basically Hakotep the Tranquil?

If anybody has any suggestions, I'm open to some creative prodding.

Lantern Lodge RPG Superstar 2014 Top 4

As far as RAW is concerned it's a bit unprecedented. However, the "Nuclear Option" could be a great opportunity for creative storytelling. What I would do if the PC destroyed the bag containing the mask, is have the event unleash a catastrophic explosion of light and sound along with a scream of the Sky Pharoah that echoes through the material, ethereal, and astral planes. With nowhere to go, Hakotep's Ib funnels into the PC instead, turning him into a host for the Sky Pharaohs mind.

Treat it like an intelligent magic item with spell-like abilities and an Ego using Hakotep's mental stats. Usually the Ib is dormant but as time goes on it starts to assert its will more and the PC begins seeing and hearing figments of Hakotep (as he was in life.)

If you're familiar with the old TV show Farscape it would be a lot like Crighton/Scorpious. Or, to follow along with your Dragon Age analogy: Justice/Anders.

Then it falls on the PCs to find a way to destroy the Ib/free the PC without further complications.

Tl;dr it's an artifact, break the rules and gave fun!

Silver Crusade

Rule 0 it. That was easy.

Scarab Sages

2 people marked this as a favorite.

Thanks Robert, that is another good suggestion to add to the mix.

Ayanzo, that wasn't really helpful. If you have any ideas on how you would "Rule 0" it as you say, I'd like the creative input.

Thanks.


archmagi1 wrote:

Thanks Robert, that is another good suggestion to add to the mix.

Ayanzo, that wasn't really helpful. If you have any ideas on how you would "Rule 0" it as you say, I'd like the creative input.

Thanks.

C'mon! it was supposed to be easy! how is asking a bunch of questions making it easy! C'mon!

I'm kidding of course, i have no idea what rule 0 is either, i have theories, but none of them make any sense at all

i would have it not work, being an Artifact tied to the destiny of a Mummy Lord:-)
but if it makes it more entertaining for you, Robert has some good ideas:)

Lantern Lodge RPG Superstar 2014 Top 4

"Rule 0" is an old adage from the days of D&D that implies before all other rules "the DM is always right." Too often, I've seen this invoked by GMs in ways that diminishes the fun of everyone playing. It's a handy reminder that you have freedom to change what you want, however. It's just not what the OP was asking for ;)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I always assumed that "lost forever" mean that the contents were scattered and lost on the Astral Plane (artefacts in particular would survive that process). So, in theory, one could go to the Astral Plane and try to track it down somehow.


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Isn't the Mask only really needed for putting on the BBEG's head at the end of the final act? He's still acting independently even without it, right?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Dreaming Psion wrote:
Isn't the Mask only really needed for putting on the BBEG's head at the end of the final act? He's still acting independently even without it, right?

Correct. In point of fact. The 'nuclear option' is actually a very BAD idea, as the Mask is vital to putting him down permanently. Otherwise, he comes back like a lich with a well hidden Phylactery...


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

One option if you wanted to drastically alter the campaign (or even start a new one) is to have some githyanki find it. Naturally it possesses one of their number, thus bringing Golarion to the githyanki's attention for the first time. Deciding this world is relatively ripe for the plucking (lower number of high level characters than other campaign worlds like FR or such) but also potentially dangerous (re: the mask), the lich queen decides it's time to take it over. Thus the campaign will change into (or the next one will be) a Githyanki Incursion into Golarion! (With the added threat of the Mask-wearing rebel githyanki as a wild card.)

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
captain yesterday wrote:
archmagi1 wrote:

Thanks Robert, that is another good suggestion to add to the mix.

Ayanzo, that wasn't really helpful. If you have any ideas on how you would "Rule 0" it as you say, I'd like the creative input.

Thanks.

C'mon! it was supposed to be easy! how is asking a bunch of questions making it easy! C'mon!

I'm kidding of course, i have no idea what rule 0 is either, i have theories, but none of them make any sense at all

i would have it not work, being an Artifact tied to the destiny of a Mummy Lord:-)
but if it makes it more entertaining for you, Robert has some good ideas:)

Generally if it's going to be a large game breaking issue, You can easily hand wave bits with rule0. As far as practical application. It's an artifact, they have pretty specific destruction requirements.

If they did the bag-o-holding thing, the mask actually wouldn't be destroyed, but it would be sent to the astral plane, which would be an interesting locate-object infused side quest in the future towards book 5->6. If they do it or don't you're fine, they essentially just did an expensive plane shift. There's always this allure of destroying epic creatures using this method, but it's really just an aggressive, expensive form of planeshift/greater teleport. You won't even have problems with bags of devouring as being an artifact supersedes the 'destroys anything' clause, so frodo would still need to climb mount doom.

@Robert Well yea, for those who abuse it. In the end it's meant to bring fluidity, for an AP going off the rails that far.. well I'd vote that up there in terms campaign sidetracking. Now if you have the creative energies, it's easy enough to invent places, planes, locations (planeeee shifffft because I can!); but if you're struggling in this, then that's the point of the AP books, or if you lack the prep time for world building.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Path / Mummy's Mask / The Nuclear Option (AKA using RAW to destroy the Mask) (Spoilers Obv) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Mummy's Mask