Cauldron of Overwhelming Allies, clarifications.


Rules Questions


Our group just picked up this trinket in the Reign of Winter AP. Just looking to clarify its function.

"Once per day, if used as the focus or divine focus for a summon monster or summon nature’s ally spell, the cauldron automatically conjures 1d3 additional creatures of the same kind from the next lower level list. For example, if a user casts summon monster III to summon 1d3 wolves, he could also summon 1d3 additional wolves (or other creatures from the 2nd-level list)."

Since it only grant "additional creatures of the same kind from the next lower level list" it seems that what's implied, but not outright stated, is that the cauldron has no effect when summoning creatures of the same-level list as that of the spell or when casting the 1st level version of either spell (since there's no lower level list to choose 1d3 creatures from).

I'm also wondering whether the cauldron would work in conjunction with a summoner's Summon Monster spell-like ability seeing as it doesn't require a focus though since, according to the general description of spell-like abilities, it "functions just like a spell. Further, would the Cauldron function in conjunction with appropriate spell-completion or spell-trigger items such as scrolls and wands?

I don't think there's any official ruling on this item, so conjecture is welcome.


My interpretation:

It would probably not work with a spell-like ability, because you cannot use it as a focus for a spell-like ability.

It would not work for a spell cast using a wand or scroll, because you cannot use it as a focus for a wand or scroll.


Thanks for answering. It's certainly a reasonable interpretation. Anyone else feel like chiming in?


For spell like abilities.
From here

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic#TOC-Spell-Like-Abilities-Sp- wrote:

]

Usually, a spell-like ability works just like the spell of that name. A spell-like ability has no verbal, somatic, or material component, nor does it require a focus. The user activates it mentally. Armor never affects a spell-like ability's use, even if the ability resembles an arcane spell with a somatic component.

Bolded pieces are the important parts.

SLA summoning works exactly like normal summoning unless spelled out otherwise (EX: Summoner Eidolons not being able to benifit from Augment summons unless summoned with the 'summon Eidolon' spell
SLA summon mosnter ought to work fine to activate the item.

It states that it does not require a focus, not that an additional focus may not be used in the case such an object would be beneficial.

I'm not even sure where to start on how spell trigger/activation items like wands and scrolls would interact with this though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cauldron of Overwhelming Allies, clarifications. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions