SR question


Rules Questions


in my cousins campaign, i have a ranger with an enchanted bow when ever i release an arrow from it, it adds fire damage to the arrow, does this need to roll against a creatures SR; and if so who's spell casting level do i use? help would be awesome :) thank you any questions please ask


No the only time that you will have to roll for SR is when you cast a spell or if the item says that SR applies otherwise it bypasses SR


Generally speaking, unless an ability specifies that SR applies then it doesn't.

Grand Lodge

It sounds like you have a standard +X Flaming (__)bow (it is not really important what kind of bow or the +bonus)

Magical equipment like this does not typically care about Spell Resistance. Equipment that does tends to be Wands, Staffs and some rods. Some weapons also care, but usually they are Spell Storing weapons, and it is really the spell inside the weapon that cares. So even if the creature has SR, it does not stop the bow from turning it into a porcupine with arrows.

For example, you bow does not have to worry about the elder dragon's Spell Resistance. It may have to worry about the Energy Resistance, but that is a separate defensive ability (like saving throws from armor class)

A side note about spell resistance:
Spell resistance is like an armor class vs most spells. It is not a total defense. It does not protect from magic items and it does not protect from all spells. Magic Missle needs to worry about SR, Create Pit does not.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / SR question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions