Can a gravewalker possess unintelligent undead?


Rules Questions


Specifically, can a witch use Possess Undead on one of her Animate Dead minions? Possess Undead and the relevant portion of Magic Jar below.

Spoiler:
Possess Undead (Sp)

A gravewalker may take direct control of one of her undead minions within her aura of desecration, as if using magic jar; the witch’s poppet acts as the soul receptacle for this ability. The minion gets no saving throw against this ability.

Magic Jar

While in the magic jar, you can sense and attack any life force within 10 feet per caster level (and on the same plane of existence). You do need line of effect from the jar to the creatures. You cannot determine the exact creature types or positions of these creatures. In a group of life forces, you can sense a difference of 4 or more HD between one creature and another and can determine whether a life force is powered by positive or negative energy. (Undead creatures are powered by negative energy. Only sentient undead creatures have, or are, souls.)

I assumed that when the text mentioned minions that this ability overwrites the general limitation on Magic Jar, but a recent discussion has caused me to come here for answers! Also, I already know that undead under the Command Undead spell don't fall under the minions category (but those under Bonethrall do). My concern is that not being able to use Possess Undead on mindless minions essentially limits a witch's Possess Undead ability to undead controlled via Bonethrall, which doesn't seem to be the intent of the ability.


Yes


Thanks for the fast reply! No need for expanded discussion then?


Unless you can give some reason for it not, the specific overrides general seems to apply perfectly. Similar to the possess object spell.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a gravewalker possess unintelligent undead? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions