So, Mad Monkeys (monkey swarm) -- bludgeoning works or fails?


Rules Questions


I noticed that the swarm traits say this:

Quote:
A swarm made up of Tiny creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons.

And I noticed that things like the rat swarm seem to obey this:

Quote:
(as a swarm of tiny creatures, a Rat Swarm takes only half damage from piercing and slashing attacks)

However, the listing for the monkey swarm diverges from this, saying:

Quote:
half damage from weapons

...in other words, with a monkey swarm, even bludgeoning fails. Normally, I'd just use the swarm traits text, but we all know the rule is that specific trumps general, so the monkey swarm in particular is apparently doing more than the general swarm rules.

This was brought up in the errata discussion but apparently it was deemed fine as-is...? At least, I don't see a response to the request for clarification.

Can anyone find a specific FAQ or errata or rules citing that invalidates the bludgeoning exemption? I have a player who intends to exploit this problem, and while I can probably get away with blocking it, it's a PFS game, so I kinda have to follow the rules literally.

Lantern Lodge

PRD says: Swarm Traits - "A swarm made up of Tiny creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons. A swarm composed of Fine or Diminutive creatures is immune to all weapon damage."

PRD says: Monkey Swarm - "Defensive Abilities half damage from weapons, swarm traits"

I don't see the problem. Specific trumps general, so a Monkey Swarm takes half damage from slashing, piercing and bludgeoning weapons while a regular swarm of tiny creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons, and full damage from bludgeoning weapons.

Bludgeoning doesn't "fail". Monkey swarms take half damage from bludgeoning weapons.

???

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Adventure, Adventure Path, Rulebook Subscriber

I don't really see where the confusion is coming from either. Specific always trumps general.

Example:
Stars are yellow.

Is that true? Yes. But it is generalized.

"This star is red" is more specific and has nothing to do with other stars being yellow.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / So, Mad Monkeys (monkey swarm) -- bludgeoning works or fails? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.