Death's Kiss vs construct


Rules Questions


Does Death's kiss affect a construct? The death ability it replaces requires the creature to be living. But Death's kiss just says "creature" so can it affect a construct?


A link to the source or the exact rules text would be helpful. But as a guess, no, since constructs are immune to death effects and this sounds like one.

Sczarni

I can't find Death's Kiss. Do you mean Kiss of Death?

Kiss of Death (Su) wrote:
A catrina can kill a grappled, helpless, or willing target with a long, passionate kiss. The target must succeed at a DC 17 Fortitude save or take 5d6 points of damage. Any creature damaged by the same catrina's kiss for three consecutive rounds instantly dies, regardless of how many hit points it has remaining. Creatures of the old age category take a –2 penalty on saving throws to resist this ability, while those in the venerable age category take a –4 penalty. This is a death effect. The save DCs are Charisma-based.

If that is the ability in question, then no, it would have no effect on a construct, because constructs are immune to any effect that requires a Fortitude save (unless the effect also works on objects, or is harmless).

Sovereign Court

Sorry for resurrecting this thread. But the OP was referencing the APG Cleric subdomain Undead, which the 1st level power is Death's Kiss.

"Death's Kiss (Su): You can cause a creature to take on some of the traits of the undead with a melee touch attack. Touched creatures are treated as undead for the purposes of effects that heal or cause damage based on positive and negative energy. This effect lasts for a number of rounds equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum 1). It does not apply to the Turn Undead or Command Undead feats. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier."

The OP is correct that it only says "creature", It's Supernatural and there's no save either so the immunity to any effect that requires a Fort save from the construct is of no effect. RAW it looks like this would effect Constructs. It seems a bit awkward to think that this would, but for RP purposes you could picture it as the target is being imbued with a magical aura that causes it to be affected as undead for purposes of heal/harm from positive or negative energy.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Death's Kiss vs construct All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions