The Manuever Master, Grapples, and Full Round Actions.


Rules Questions


Question about Maneuver Master: Typically Grappling is a standard action. Flurry of Maneuvers adds a bonus combat maneuver attack IF you are making a Full Round Attack. So should I consider Grappling a full round attack if the player wants to add the 2nd combat maneuver (he wants to grapple twice a round at first level). Or can't you do this with a Grapple since its a Standard Action?


Quote:
Flurry of Maneuvers (Ex): At 1st level, as part of a full-attack action, a maneuver master can make one additional combat maneuver, regardless of whether the maneuver normally replaces a melee attack or requires a standard action. The maneuver master uses his monk level in place of his base attack bonus to determine his CMB for the bonus maneuvers, though all combat maneuver checks suffer a –2 penalty when using a flurry. At 8th level, a maneuver master may attempt a second additional combat maneuver, with an additional –3 penalty on combat maneuver checks. At 15th level, a maneuver master may attempt a third additional combat maneuver, with an additional –7 penalty on combat maneuver checks. This ability replaces flurry of blows.

You can do the maneuver even though it is normally a standard action due to the wording of the ability. At 8th level he can do a second grapple as part of the ability.

Before 8th level, he can flurry of maneuvers, which lets him make a full-attack and also one grapple attempt. He cannot sub grapple attempts for any of his normal attacks that he gets during the full attack.


So even if you didn't have the Maneuver Master archetype you would never consider Grapple to be anything but a Standard Action? Its never part of a full round action?


R.A.Boettcher wrote:
So even if you didn't have the Maneuver Master archetype you would never consider Grapple to be anything but a Standard Action? Its never part of a full round action?

Correct. You can grapple as a standard action only, you can not mix it with a full-attack. Only combat maneuvers which are "in place of an attack" (disarm, sunder, trip) can be mixed into a full-attack.

A method around this is to gain the grab special ability on your attacks. An example is a tetori monk at 8th level gains grab on unarmed strikes. This allows the monk to get a free grapple attempt on every unarmed strike that hits.


Hmm...I guess this means you can't sub a grapple for a Attack of Opportunity either. Excepting special cases like your tetori monk example.


That is correct.


Thanks for your help.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / The Manuever Master, Grapples, and Full Round Actions. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.