Attack rolls, friendly spells, and allies


Rules Questions


I couldn't really find an answer to these anywhere.

Do touch spells that target friendly and willing allies, such as Cure Light Wounds, actually require an attack roll? Is it an attack roll that the ally is just choosing to auto-fail, or does it just no longer require an attack roll?

Can I choose to roll an attack roll with Cure Light Wounds, even if an ally is willing?


A touch requirement and a "touch attack" are not the same. You do not need a "touch attack" for an ally when using a "touch" spell.

You can only roll for it if the GM allows you to roll for it. The rules assume it is automatic since the ally would not be trying to not get hit.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Attack rolls, friendly spells, and allies All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.