Magical darkness ending with unconsciousness


Rules Questions


If a creature has a spell-like ability to cast darkness and the creature dies/falls unconscious, does the darkness immediately end or proceed until it runs its course?


GM ShadowLord wrote:
If a creature has a spell-like ability to cast darkness and the creature dies/falls unconscious, does the darkness immediately end or proceed until it runs its course?

Any spell will only end when the caster goes unconscious if the duration included Concentration.


So if no concentration was required and it was cast normally, if the caster falls the spell persists until the duration has expired?

Grand Lodge

It runs it's course.

It is a dismissible spell, but you need to be conscious to dismiss it.


GM ShadowLord wrote:
So if no concentration was required and it was cast normally, if the caster falls the spell persists until the duration has expired?

Yes. Plus what the Troll said.


Thanks gang.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Magical darkness ending with unconsciousness All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.