| Ruanek |
I'm relatively new to Pathfinder, so I apologize if my questions seem stupid. I recently made a level 5 archer inquisitor and haven't been able to find good answers in the rules to two potential cases:
1. Is there a attack roll penalty to a secondary target? (I have the Rapid Shot feat. If I attack one target and kill it, I assume I can then attack another, but is it at the same attack bonus?)
2. How does a range increment work? I have a composite longbow with a range increment of 110 feet. I assume that for each step beyond that there would be some penalty to my attack roll, but I can't find a number for that. (Would it be a -2 at 120 feet? -4 at 230 feet? Something like that?)
| Tarantula |
1) No penalty. Many other systems have a penalty, but pathfinder does not.
2) Range is listed under the Range: section of Equipment.
Range: Any attack at more than this distance is penalized for range. Beyond this range, the attack takes a cumulative –2 penalty for each full range increment (or fraction thereof) of distance to the target. For example, a dagger (with a range of 10 feet) thrown at a target that is 25 feet away would incur a –4 penalty. A thrown weapon has a maximum range of five range increments. A projectile weapon can shoot to 10 range increments.
So its -2 for each range increment. For your composite longbow with 110, you'd have no penalty up to 110'. -2 for up to 220. -4 for up to 330. -6 up to 440. -8 up to 550. -10 up to 660. -12 to 770. -14 to 880. -16 to 990. and -18 for 1100. The max distance you could target is 1100' away. A distance weapon would double that to 2200. And a flight arrow would add another 200 feet to 2400'.
kinevon
|
Thanks for the response!
Here's another question: can a ranged weapon have the flaming attribute?
Yes, it is explicitly listed on Table 15-10 in the CRB on page 469 for Ranged Weapon Special Abilities.
It also has a superscript 2, which, per the bottom of the table says that: Bows, crossbows, and slings crafted with this ability bestow this power upon their ammunition.
So, yes, a +1 flaming composite (+Str mod) longbow is fully legal, and the arrows form it do 1d8+1+(Str mod) piercing (or bludgeoning) damage + 1d6 fire damage.
The 1d6 fire damage would not get multiplied on a crit. The rest of the damage mentioned would be tripled, as normal for an x3 weapon.