Alchemists and Transformation


Rules Questions


So, in the spell description of transformation, it says that you can't casr spells. But under the alchemists alchemy class feature, it says you don't technically cast spells.

Alchemy wrote:
Although the alchemist doesn't actually cast spells, he does have a formulae list that determines what extracts he can create. An alchemist can utilize spell-trigger items if the spell appears on his formuale list, but not spell-completion items (unless he uses Use Magic Device to do so). An extract is “cast” by drinking it, as if imbibing a potion—the effects of an extract exactly duplicate the spell upon which its formula is based, save that the spell always affects only the drinking alchemist. An alchemist can draw and drink an extract as a standard action. The alchemist uses his level as the caster level to determine any effect based on caster level.

So, can I still use extracts while under the effects of a transformation spell?


I would say yes, especially considering infused extracty. A wizard under transformation spell could not cast himself but would still be effected by imbibing an infused extract.

So alchi should be fine and transformation is not a bad option for him.


Yup, that should be fine.


Thanks guys. I thought so, ught so, but one the one hand, extracts are technically spells, just not 'cast same way. Just like everything to be legal.


TheBulletKnight wrote:
Thanks guys. I thought so, ught so, but one the one hand, extracts are technically spells, just not 'cast same way. Just like everything to be legal.

If I'm not mistaken, they are Not actually spells. An Alchemist's extracts reproduce dispellable spell effects, but the extracts themselves are not.

Would someone kindly correct me or add? I'm not well versed on the matter.


Alchemy wrote:
Extracts are the most varied of the three. In many ways, they behave like spells in potion form, and as such their effects can be dispelled by effects like dispel magic using the alchemist's level as the caster level. Unlike potions, though, extracts can have powerful effects and duplicate spells that a potion normally could not.

No, sir, you are quite correct. Dispellable potions that emulate spells.


...Are you trolling me? >.<
They're not potions either... merely imbibed similarly. As a standard action.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alchemists and Transformation All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.