Alahazra and Ambush


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Given the rules for using powers while encountering a card can Alahazra use her ability to scout after successfully defeating Ambush but before using Ambush's ability to explore again.

Would scouting be considered related to the check. I think not. My question is whether you immediately need to go to the next explore when you defeat Ambush or is there time to do other things like use powers or cast Cure, etc.


If it says "you may IMMEDIATELY explore again", then you can't do anything else before exploring.

Sovereign Court

"If defeated, you may explore again".

I see no reason you can't do things like Cure or scouting before your free explore.


Hmmm.... I would say you can't. Finish one thing before you start another. If you do something other than explore, you've given up the opportunity. Though I could be wrong.


Hawkmoon269 wrote:
Hmmm.... I would say you can't. Finish one thing before you start another. If you do something other than explore, you've given up the opportunity. Though I could be wrong.

Unless it says "immediately", you can play cards and powers between explores. Otherwise what would be the point of the "immediately" in Ezren's power, for instance?


Well, in RotR it did say immediately. The word has been removed in Skull and Shackles.

So was that done because they wanted it to work differently or because it works the same but has more succinct wording?

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Noted. We will discuss those cards' "immediately" or lack of same.

Sovereign Court

Ah, didn't know it was on RotR. Given that they didn't FAQ the RotR version, I'm inclined to say it is immediately until they're done discussing it..


Mike Selinker wrote:
Noted. We will discuss those cards' "immediately" or lack of same.

Considering Mike didn't say that he would discuss the "immediately" "immediately", I would "argue" that we can "argue" before his answer even if the subject of the argument isn't related to the "immediate" subject.

Sorry guys I had a short night.
More seriously, it is a quite important question seen by an old RPG guy like me (how many times as a DM had I a character asking me whether he had time to drink a potion of healing before fighting the next monster without losing one round/turn).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Alahazra and Ambush All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion