| Meholder |
| 2 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Looked for answers, came up short. Likely my fault.
Anyway.
With the dweomer leap, it says it's an immediate action triggered by a targeted spell or an AoE. If it's a targeted effect that penetrates the SR (say an Icy Prison or something like that), which occurs first - the teleport/pounce or the spell's effect? Or does the leap avoid the spell completely?
Kazumetsa_Raijin
|
That's a really good question!
Considering it states:
"Dweomer Leap(Su):
When a dweomercat is targeted by a spell or within the area of effect of a spell, it can, as an immediate action, choose to teleport to a square adjacent to the spell's caster, effectively appearing mid-leap and aimed toward the caster. This ability takes effect regardless of whether or not the spell overcomes the dweomercat's SR. If it chooses, the dweomercat can immediately make a full attack against the spells caster as though pouncing. "
Since it states "targeted by a spell", I imagine you can immediately use your Dweomer Leap right after they choose YOU, but before their roll to overcome SR. It also states "This ability takes effect regardless of whether or not the spell overcomes the dweomercat's SR". I would think at that point, the Cat's actions come first with the pounce, then the caster can choose to roll against the SR, and whatever follows.
It's hard to tell.
| SlimGauge |
Grasshopper, your Search-Fu is weak.
See this thread, wherein I'm wrong and James Jacobs says this.
There's also this later one.
Kazumetsa_Raijin
|
Grasshopper, your Search-Fu is weak.
See this thread, wherein I'm wrong and James Jacobs says this.
There's also this later one.
Forgive me sensei! I have much to learn :(
| Meholder |
While I don't deny my search-fu is weak, I'm not sure the link answered my question (which could mean my reasoning-fu is weak as well). I understand it's an immediate action and BOOM, cat's there clawing away, but what if the spell is something debilitating? Let's use Icy Prison, the spell the wizard in my campaign loves right now. He casts Icy Prison at a dweomer cat. From what I understand, the cat makes the teleport regardless of SR penetration or save - but if we say it gets the attack no matter what, is it then in an Icy Prison if the caster caster beats SR and it fails the save?
| Meholder |
While I don't deny my search-fu is weak, I'm not sure the link answered my question (which could mean my reasoning-fu is weak as well). I understand it's an immediate action and BOOM, cat's there clawing away, but what if the spell is something debilitating? Let's use Icy Prison, the spell the wizard in my campaign loves right now. He casts Icy Prison at a dweomer cat. From what I understand, the cat makes the teleport regardless of SR penetration or save - but if we say it gets the attack no matter what, is it then in an Icy Prison if the caster caster beats SR and it fails the save?
to be fair, I've expanded on my original question. I have many -fu issues, it appears.
| SlimGauge |
While I don't deny my search-fu is weak, I'm not sure the link answered my question (which could mean my reasoning-fu is weak as well). I understand it's an immediate action and BOOM, cat's there clawing away, but what if the spell is something debilitating? Let's use Icy Prison, the spell the wizard in my campaign loves right now. He casts Icy Prison at a dweomer cat. From what I understand, the cat makes the teleport regardless of SR penetration or save - but if we say it gets the attack no matter what, is it then in an Icy Prison if the caster caster beats SR and it fails the save?
I think now (and I've been wrong before) that the cat makes his immediate action teleport and full attack between the time that the caster begins his spell and that spell completing.
IF the caster actually makes the concentration check for being cat-mauled while casting AND beats SR AND the cat fails the save AND the cat is still in the area of effect or otherwise still targeted, then yes the spell takes effect.
| Meholder |
I think now (and I've been wrong before) that the cat makes his immediate action teleport and full attack between the time that the caster begins his spell and that spell completing.
IF the caster actually makes the concentration check for being cat-mauled while casting AND beats SR AND the cat fails the save AND the cat is still in the area of effect or otherwise still targeted, then yes the spell takes effect.
That's exactly what I was looking for, and that's a great solution by having him make a concentration check. Awesomeness. Thank you!
Master of Shadows
|
I think now (and I've been wrong before) that the cat makes his immediate action teleport and full attack between the time that the caster begins his spell and that spell completing.IF the caster actually makes the concentration check for being cat-mauled while casting AND beats SR AND the cat fails the save AND the cat is still in the area of effect or otherwise still targeted, then yes the spell takes effect.
Personally I would agree with this assessment, the cat is essentially taking an attack of opportunity triggered by being designated as a target or withing the selected AOE. However, As RAW for the ability does not expressly allow the cat to interrupt the spell, i can't say this is a definitive claim. I have FAQ'd it
The Morphling
|
The Morphling wrote:Immediate actions occur before the action which triggered them, so... yep. Concentration check needed or lose your spell.Can you reference this claim? I did not find it in the PRD when I reviewed the Immediate action rules.
Well it's...
...
...well what the hell. Numerous abilities are written assuming they interrupt. Readied actions and AoOs interrupt. But apparently Immediate Actions don't have anything describing whether they occur before or after a possible "triggering" action. Since they can be done at any time (usually), I suppose you could just choose to pre-cast it.