5-foot steps and firearm reloading


Rules Questions


I have a relatively quick question.

One of the players in my campaign is a gunslinger with the Rapid Reload feat. This lets them reload their pistol as a move action.

The 5-foot step in the Combat section of the CRB states that "You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement."

Is reloading a pistol with the RR feat considered a "kind of movement"? Or can the gunslinger reload, shoot, and take 5-foot step on the same turn?


No, that means actual movement, not move actions.

Sczarni

If your character actually moves from one square to another (walk, fly, run, swim, charge, whatever), then they cannot utilize a five foot step.

Move-equivalent actions do not count as actual movement. Only the action type is the same.

Standing up from prone, actively using the Perception skill, or Reloading a firearm, despite all being move-equivalent actions, still allows you to take a five foot step, since your character did not move actual distance.

This general rule, of course, has exceptions, just in case anyone was thinking of posting any.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / 5-foot steps and firearm reloading All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions