Mounted Foolhardy Rush?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

There's some debate in my current group over the function of the Cavalier Order of the Flame ability Foolhardy Rush. The rule reads as follows:

"At 2nd level, the cavalier can charge across the battlefield at a moment's notice. Whenever the cavalier attempts an initiative check, as long as he rolls an 11 or higher on the die, he can move up to his base speed as an immediate action and he is not considered flat-footed.

If the cavalier takes an action to move during his next turn, he subtracts the number of feet moved during the initiative check from his total movement."

The debate is first can a cavalier even use this ability while mounted on his mount? The rule clearly states the cavalier gets to move up to his base speed as an immediate action, but mounted combat states that the mount uses its move action anytime the mounted character moves using its speed and the mount is not addressed anywhere in Foolhardy Rush. It only states the cavalier may take that move.

The follow-up question is if the mounted cavalier can in fact benefit from Foolhardy Rush while mounted, does the mount also move then as an immediate action or does it still consume the mount's move action?


I've been puzzling this one over as well. My gut says that it should work, and that it uses the mount's speed (with any remainder applying as well).

I'm also trying to figure out if, should the cavalier do a Foolhardy Rush, whether he can charge as a full round action the next turn (as long as he has the movement left). My gut says sure, as long as he subtracts the movement already made, but I'd hate to be wrong.


thread resurrection!

has anyone answered this question? especially the bit about rushing and then charging as a full action. seems to me that's whats intended but would like to know!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Mounted Foolhardy Rush? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions