Taking the same trait multiple times.


Rules Questions


I have a player who is insisting that It would be okay to take the same trait multiple times. The trait in particular is Clever Wordplay. The trait is as such.

Benefit: Choose one Charisma-based skill. You attempt checks with that skill using your Intelligence modifier instead of your Charisma modifier.

He is making a wizard and is hoping to make diplomacy and bluff INT based instead of CHA based. I've tried looking around but can't find anything that says if this is allowed or not.


Unless an ability/trait/feat/etc specifically states that it can be taken more than once, it cannot be.


Generally you're not supposed to take more tan one trait in the same category, much less the same one twice.

In other words: this wizard's words aren't _that_ clever

Grand Lodge

Advance Player's Guide wrote:
When selecting traits, you may not select more than one from the same list of traits

So no, he can't.


d20pfsrd wrote:
"There are a few rules governing trait selection. To begin with, your GM controls how many bonus traits a PC begins with; the default assumption is two traits. When selecting traits, you may not select more than one from the same list of traits (the four basic traits each count as a separate list for this purpose). Certain types of traits may have additional requirements, as detailed in the section above.

Choosing the same trait twice is definitely choosing from the same category.

Guy's gonna have to suck it up and either up his Cha or deal with the fact he won't be the diplomancer he wants to be.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Student of Philosophy does what your player wants but is a single trait. Probably.


Thanks guys. I'll be sure to let him know then.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Taking the same trait multiple times. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions