Eyepatch question (... or the danger of pronouns)


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Eyepatch's power:

Recharge this card to add 1d4 and the Swashbuckling trait to your check to acquire an ally or defeat a bane or a ship, or 1d8 if it has the Pirate trait.

What is it?

a) the ally/bane/ship in question; or

b) the check itself has a Pirate trait.

My guess is 'a', but pronouns are sneaky things.

Grand Lodge

We played it as "a".


I'd say it is the ally/bane/ship as well. I've seen the "pirate" trait on them. I haven't seen the "pirate" trait be something a check can have.

(And typically, a pronoun can be assumed to have the mostly directly previous noun that would make sense as its antecedent.)


Yep. "It" refers to the last noun used previously to it in the sentence as a general. So eyepatch is saying, Recharge to add 1d4 ... to your check to acquire (insert card type where appropriate), but make that 1d4 a 1d8 if the card you're attempting to acquire has the pirate trait.


Thx guys, I was pretty sure of it as well; but you know what they say about making assumptions. Been a while since I had to think about the rules of grammar though.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Eyepatch question (... or the danger of pronouns) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion