Arcanist and Magambyan Arcanist


Rules Questions


So, despite the drama surrounding the arcanist I find myself quite liking the class, which is notable since I generally tend to shy away from the arcane spellcasters, and I found myself wanting to actually try one out, especially with my favorite prestige class, the Magambyan Arcanist!

However, there are a couple of mechanical issues with such a combination, so I'd figure I'd check what peoples' take on the matter is.

Issue 1: Qualifying for Spell Mastery
Technically, Spell Mastery has the prerequisite of "Wizard level 1", which always struck me as silly now that we have several arcane casters using spellbooks. Furthermore, the prestige class itself seems to suggest that witches may qualify for the class, using their familiars in lace of spellbooks. Doesn't seem to be an issue for me outside of PFS, which I can't say I'm planning to play anytime soon.

Issue 2: Class features
This is clearly the meatier part of the issue, and two class features in particular stand out:

Intoned Recollection

SRD said wrote:

At 3rd level, by performing a special ritual, a Collegiate arcanist can prepare a spell into an open arcane spell slot with 1 minute of preparation. The open spell slot cannot have been one that was filled previously that day and was expended; it must have purposefully been left empty at the beginning of the day when the Collegiate arcanist prepared her spells. She must be able to read her spellbook or have mastered the spell with the Spell Mastery feat in order to prepare it with this ability. She doesn't need to rest for 8 hours beforehand, but all other requirements of the preparation process still apply.

At 9th level, she can do this as a full-round action, provided she has her spellbook in hand or has mastered the spell with the Spell Mastery feat. She can use this ability a number of times per day equal to her Intelligence modifier.

Spontaneous Spell Mastery

SRD said wrote:
At 4th level, a Collegiate arcanist can “lose” any prepared spell to cast a spell of the same spell level or lower which she has mastered with the Spell Mastery feat. She can use this ability once per day, plus one additional time per day at 8th level.

So how would these abilities work with the arcanist, if at all? Arcanists do technically have prepared spells, but since their method of casting is different I'm at a loss for how to apply them. My inclination is to have Intoned Recollection work as usual, and have Spontaneous Spell Mastery work by expending a spell slot since this is roughly equivalent to a wizard losing one prepared spell, and I feel that having the arcanist actually "unprepare" one of her prepared spells seems a bit too harsh of a ruling. Thoughts?

Thanks in advance!


Hopeful bump.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcanist and Magambyan Arcanist All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.