How would you have handled this situation?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I play with 4 characters. Valeros, Kyra, Ezren and Merisiel.

It's Valeros turn and he encounters a Hill Giant in Waterfront. Now waterfront says that "When playing a weapon subtract 1 from each die rolled". Ouch! (I guess you should send you non weapon characters to the waterfront :S) He gets a "nice" 5 total to beat the Hill giant and that means he will take 10 in damage. No problem as Valeros have an armor card which he uses.

But

Kyra is at the same location and the Hill giant gives EVERYONE in the location the same damage. She does not have an armor card at hand. Which in Kyras case means all her cards on her hand is gone. She has to have 5 on her hand, and she only has 4 left in her pile. But it's not her turn yet so she is ok, for now.

Valeros finishes his turn and now it's Ezren. Ezran have collected a cure spell earlier. He moves to Kyra's location and cast cure on Kyra.

When it's Kyras turn, as the last thing she does is reset her hand. and still have a couple of card left in her pile, because of the cure Ezren cast.

1.) My question is; Is that the way it should have played out? Or did I misinterpret a rule somewhere?

Now I have your attention I actually have 2 more questions :):

2.) When a spell say under power "If you do not have the divine skill, banish this card." It just means that the character CAN use the card but will have to banish it afterwards, right?

3.) If eg. Kyra ends her turn and resets her hand, she will have 5 cards on her hand, but when it's Valros's turn he gives her a card too, so now she has 6 and will be able to use from all 6 until it's the end of her turn and she will have to reset her hand again. true?


You're right on all counts!


Thanks Dave :). It was a crazy situation really...


Tiqon wrote:
Thanks Dave :). It was a crazy situation really...

I think something was overlooked in that response that everything is ok. Why did Ezran move to the location? The damage has to be dealt before anyone else takes a turn. Kyra is supposed to take the damage at the end of Valros' turn, not when it is her turn to explore, meaning Ezran cannot take his turn until Kyra has been hurt. The Hill Giant hits Valeros so hard, Kyra feels the pain.

Other than that everything looks good.

Sovereign Court

That's exactly what happened in the post. Valeros failed, he and Kyra took their damage. Valeros ended his turn, now Ezren is up, and he has a Cure in his hand. At the start of his turn, he moved to Valeros/Kyra's location, and cured Kyra. After that turn, Kyra got to go, and was fine now because of the Cure.


Like Andrew said. She just took the damage, so she lost all card on hand, she still had 4 in her stack to pick up, but would lack the 5 she needs when it was her turn to reset her hand.

I could of course have hoped she would pick an item or spell from an explore and when picking up the last 4 cards when she had to reset her hand, she needed she would be ok too I think.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / How would you have handled this situation? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion