Spell Storing Property and Ranged Touch Spells


Rules Questions


I was reviewing both Spell Storing properties, specifically the armor version, and the text was significantly more different, though it still led me to having a question. Before I start proposing it, let's review the weapon version:

Spell Storing (Weapon) wrote:
A spell storing weapon allows a spellcaster to store a single targeted spell of up to 3rd level in the weapon. (The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action.) Anytime the weapon strikes a creature and the creature takes damage from it, the weapon can immediately cast the spell on that creature as a free action if the wielder desires. (This special ability is an exception to the general rule that casting a spell from an item takes at least as long as casting that spell normally.) Once the spell has been cast from the weapon, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted spell of up to 3rd level into it. The weapon magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it. A randomly rolled spell storing weapon has a 50% chance of having a spell stored in it already. This special ability can only be placed on melee weapons.

Fair enough. Notice the bolded part; it says one targeted spell, meaning the target could be anything. As long as it has a Target line, then it's eligible, meaning Scorching Ray, Acid Arrow, etc. can all be stored in this.

Now, let's review the Armor version:

Spell Storing (Armor) wrote:
This armor allows a spellcaster to store a single touch spell of up to 3rd level in it. Anytime a creature hits the wearer with a melee attack or melee touch attack, the armor can cast the spell on that creature as a swift action if the wearer desires. Once the spell has been cast from the armor, a spellcaster can cast any other targeted touch spell of up to 3rd level into it. The armor magically imparts to the wielder the name of the spell currently stored within it.

So the armor version specifically requires a Touch spell instead of a spell target, and it procs off of whenever they are hit by a melee combatant.

For argument's purpose, let's say the PC has a Spell Storing armor. He gets caught out and gets a smack across the face. Now, instead of putting on, say, an Empowered Shocking Grasp before the next combat, could he instead put an Intensified Scorching Ray on the armor, and, when he gets hit, use it as a Swift Action to deal 16D8 damage to the target? Is that a thing?

(Before everyone tries to argue the Swift Action subject, I'm aware of the Anti-Paladin Ninja that is Stephen Radney-Macfarland and his post on the matter.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Spell Storing Property and Ranged Touch Spells All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions