Cartomancer Deliver Touch Spells Questions


Rules Questions


I've been playing Cartomancer for a few sessions now in PFS and just played my first level 3 scenario where I ended up using Deliver Touch Spells. It went well but there are a few questions I have about the archetype when it comes to combat.

1) Am I limited to the range increments of the Spelldeck, aka a dart, when using Deliver Touch Spells and thus get negatives for going past them?

2) Do I gain the +x of the Spelldeck to my to-hit when using Deliver Touch Spells?

3) Do I gain the +x of the Spelldeck to the damage of a damaging spell when using Deliver Touch Spells?

4) If I am casting a positive spell on a party member do I need to hit them or is it auto success using Deliver Touch Spells?

5) this is a side question, but do I have to pay full price for enchanting the Spelldeck or does it get the same treatment as an arcane bond does (allowing me to pay half/crafting costs)?

I know feats and effects that boost ranged touch spells effect touch spells being delivered at range, such as Point Blank Shot and Precise Shot, but I'm not sure if the weapon/Spelldeck enchantments do.

Shadow Lodge

1) Yes. Deadly Dealer says you treat cards as darts. If you throw a dart past 20' you take a -2 penalty (per additional 20' increment).

2) Yes. Deliver Touch Spells uses the Deadly Dealer feat which allows you to enchant your deck. The bonus applies to attack rolls because it's on the cards, and you're making an attack roll with the cards. That's what enchantment bonuses to weapons do.

3) No. Deliver Touch Spells says "the card deals no damage of it's own" which includes magical enchantments.
If you want it to deal damage, use it with Deadly Dealer and Arcane Strike feats, not with Deliver Touch Spells. Or you could be a Card Caster or something.

4) You have to roll. It's "resolved as a ranged touch attack" which requires an attack roll vs. touch AC. It's not a range: close spell.
There may be room for an aware PC voluntarily giving up his Dex bonus or something, but that would be a houserule.

5) Interesting question. I say you will have to pay full price because the Deadly Dealer feat is not the same as the Arcane Bond class feature. It's a good theory though.


Thanks for the answers.

With question 5, I was referring to the fact that the Spelldeck of the Cartomancer is their Familiar replacement. They commune with it daily to get their daily spells, they feed it scrolls (how that happens is up to the Cartomancer) to gain new spells and they use it to deliver touch spells. So I'm not sure if because it replaces the Familiar it is cheaper or it is still normal cost/s because it doesn't explicitly say it becomes cheaper.

Also another question came to mind.

6) If I am Using Deliver Touch Spells, do I still have to spend a swift action to 'activate' Arcane Strike/Deadly Dealer? I believe I do but I'm not 100% on it.

Shadow Lodge

It doesn't specifically call out a reduced price, so it's full price. It would be nice, considering how expensive it is to enchant ammo.

6) Unclear. The Deadly Dealer feat says that you must use Arcane Strike, but oddly, they outline a specific consequence. That consequence is weird/vague: "or else the card lacks the magical force and precision to deal lethal damage." This doesn't have an obvious literal meaning within the rules (houserule nonlethal damage maybe?).

Since Deliver Touch Spells doesn't do lethal damage anyway, it shouldn't matter, but the feat says you must use Arcane Strike.
RAW: both yes and no
RAI: yes?

This issue generally doesn't matter with a Cartomancer. There isn't much that they can do with their swift action anyway, unless they have Quicken Spell and/or a Cackling Hag's Blouse.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Cartomancer Deliver Touch Spells Questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.