Quick Dirty Trick and Greater Trip synergy?


Rules Questions


While building a combat maneuver fighter, I noticed something odd. Quick Dirty Trick allows you to substitute one melee attack at your highest BAB on your turn for a dirty trick. Now, most AoOs won't be on your turn. But would an AoO provoked by Greater Trip work?


Strictly speaking, all AoOs happen outside the normal framework of the turn order. So even those you take "on your turn" aren't really on your turn.

prd wrote:

Making an Attack of Opportunity: An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and most characters can only make one per round. You don't have to make an attack of opportunity if you don't want to. You make your attack of opportunity at your normal attack bonus, even if you've already attacked in the round.

An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn).


See, that's what I was afraid of. Was hoping there was a little leeway with the quotation marks, but... Iunno.


If you're playing a homegame and have a GM who is a little short of "rules savvy", you can probably roll bluff to get him to let you do it anyway. Failing that, try sweet-talking him with pizza.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Quick Dirty Trick and Greater Trip synergy? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions