Skill check clarification


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


My group is a little confused on properly resolving skill checks when dice are being added.

Ex 1: Harsk needs to make a dexterity check (d8). He has the +1 box checked.

a) on an unaided check, it's simply 1d8+1. Easy.
b) someone plays a blessing to assist. Is it 2d8+2 or 2d8+1? I guess I'm asking if the modifier is considered part of the "die".

Ex 2: Harsk needs to make a ranged check (dex+3). He has the +1 box checked for dexterity.

c) on an unaided check, it's simply 1d8+4. Easy.
d) someone plays a blessing to assist. Is it 2d8+8, 2d8+4, or a hybrid? I could see 2d8+7 being a reasonable interpretation.


"Add a die" means only the physical object (the base die for the check) with no modifiers


This explanation might help you understand why it would just be 2d8+1 and 2d8+4.


Thank you both. That clears things up completely for us.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Skill check clarification All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion