Arcanists and Pages of Spell Knowledge


Rules Questions


Sorry if this seems obvious (it does to me), but several people seem to disagree with me on this one.

Will a Page of Spell Knowledge increase the number of spells prepared for an Arcanist?

The Arcanist Spells ability includes the text:
"Feats and other effects that modify the number of spells known by a spellcaster affect the number of spells the arcanist can prepare."

That wording (to me) suggests that a first level Arcanist could prepare two 1st level and four 0th level spells from their class ability, and an extra spell for using a Page of Spell Knowledge.

Thoughts?


That seems to work by RAW and RAI. It seems the class gets to double dip with spells known and daily preparation slots and some don't like it.


And combine it with Expanded Arcana for even more fun..


Apocryphile wrote:

Sorry if this seems obvious (it does to me), but several people seem to disagree with me on this one.

The Arcanist Spells ability includes the text:
"Feats and other effects that modify the number of spells known by a spellcaster affect the number of spells the arcanist can prepare."

Thoughts?

SRD wrote:


...she may use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells known

It seems from the above that a page of spell knowledge does not affect the number of spells known - it just lets you cast _as if_ it was a known spell. Hence, It doesn't look to me as if the arcanist clause applies here.

If a page of spell knowledge was worded "this page adds the spell to your spells known whilst it is in your possession", then I think you'd be entirely correct, but that (sadly) is not the wording.


There's no question, on the other hand, that expanded arcana is affected by the clause. Good spot.


And I've been playing an Arcanist for months now and either missed or forgot this line. Wow. I know what I'm buying before next session...

Quick question on this though: Does that mean that whatever spell was on the page is permanently prepared as one of your prepared spells?


santherus wrote:
Apocryphile wrote:

Sorry if this seems obvious (it does to me), but several people seem to disagree with me on this one.

The Arcanist Spells ability includes the text:
"Feats and other effects that modify the number of spells known by a spellcaster affect the number of spells the arcanist can prepare."

Thoughts?

SRD wrote:


...she may use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of her spells known

It seems from the above that a page of spell knowledge does not affect the number of spells known - it just lets you cast _as if_ it was a known spell. Hence, It doesn't look to me as if the arcanist clause applies here.

If a page of spell knowledge was worded "this page adds the spell to your spells known whilst it is in your possession", then I think you'd be entirely correct, but that (sadly) is not the wording.

Hmm perhaps I spoke too quickly.


DrakeRoberts wrote:

And I've been playing an Arcanist for months now and either missed or forgot this line. Wow. I know what I'm buying before next session...

Quick question on this though: Does that mean that whatever spell was on the page is permanently prepared as one of your prepared spells?

I guess this question would still apply to Expanded Arcana: Are the chosen spells just permanently prepared, or are you granted more preparation spots (either 1 of your current max level or 2 of a level below)?

Also, do you qualify for Expanded Arcana's special clause: "You can only take this feat if you possess levels in a class whose spellcasting relies on a limited list of spells known, such as the bard, oracle, and sorcerer."?

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Arcanists and Pages of Spell Knowledge All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.