
HoopyFreud |
Sorcerers, being able to "retrain" spells known, can forget spells that they've learned. So far so good. A problem appears when one considers the Tattooed Sorcerer's Enhanced Varisian Tattoo Bloodline Power replacement. It reads:
Whenever she gains a bloodline power at a later date, she may change this spell-like ability to another qualifying spell.
RAW and almost certainly RAI would seems to indicate that this means that a Sorc can forget the original "SP-ified" spell and keep the Spell-Like. The question becomes more interesting when a Sorc hits level 20, as this is the only "retainable spell" level which coincides with a "retrainable EVT" level (it's only retrainable at levels 15 and 20). The question now becomes "By RAW, can I take a 9th level Illusion spell with no material components (say, Shades) that I learned at level 18 or 19 and simultaneously retrain my EVT into it and forget it? If not, can I simultaneously learn a new spell (at level 15 or 20) and retrain my EVT into it?"
As far as I can tell, the rulebook says that integrating all class features into a level-up happen simultaneously. That being the case, anyone want to tell em what I can and can't do at those levels?

EldritchBoar |

Hi, I am resurrecting this thread as I have the same question, and seek to gather some opinions on the matter.
I am also unsure on how this ability is supposed to interact with a Robe of Arcane Heritage:
These elegant, dark purple robes are usually decorated with gold stitching suggesting a particular sorcerer bloodline, though some might indicate a family tree. When a sorcerer dons a robe of arcane heritage, the stitching pulls itself apart and reweaves to match her particular sorcerer bloodline. The wearer treats her sorcerer level as 4 higher than normal for the purpose of determining what bloodline powers she can use and their effects.
Do you get to select a new spell for the tattoo if the robe brings you to a sorcerer level high enough to gain a new power? If so what happens when you remove the robe (thus losing the power), then don it again? Do you get to choose a new spell?