Bloodrager and Arcane Training


Rules Questions


Suppose I take the Arcane Training Racial Trait with a Half Elf Bloodrager (and choose Bloodrager as my favored class)

Arcane Training:
Half-elves with this racial trait have only one favored class, and it must be an arcane spellcasting class. They can use spell trigger and spell completion items for their favored class as if one level higher (or as a 1st-level character if they have no levels in that class). This racial trait replaces the multitalented racial trait.

It wouldn't affect wands, but would it affect scrolls? If I'm a level 1 Bloodrager and I count as Level 2, do I have a caster level? Bloodragers don't gain access to spells at Level 4, so does this mean they don't have a CL until then?

Secondly, assuming they don't get a CL until Level 4,can they still make CL checks to activate scrolls? If I want to cast a scroll of Shield CL 1, can I make a CL check to activate it even though my caster level is 0?

Thirdly, when I am a Level 3 Bloodrager with Arcane Training, so I now count as Level 4, can I activate scrolls on my spell list (assuming they have CL 4 or lower) without having to roll?


mbauers wrote:


It wouldn't affect wands, but would it affect scrolls? If I'm a level 1 Bloodrager and I count as Level 2, do I have a caster level? Bloodragers don't gain access to spells at Level 4, so does this mean they don't have a CL until then?

You do not have a caster level until you gain spells from your class.

Also, the effect does include wands, it's just that without additional abilities, having a higher level doesn't particularly matter. However... it's not completely useless in this regard, a fighter could take this to gain access to arcane buffs from wands w/o the need for UMD; the price of all your FC points is costly, but it can be done.

Quote:
Secondly, assuming they don't get a CL until Level 4,can they still make CL checks to activate scrolls? If I want to cast a scroll of Shield CL 1, can I make a CL check to activate it even though my caster level is 0?

You cannot make the CL check w/o a CL afaik.

Note that there is a difference between "CL 0" and "CL -", the first lets you make checks, the second does not.
It appears that Bloodragers jump from CL- to CL4.

Quote:
Thirdly, when I am a Level 3 Bloodrager with Arcane Training, so I now count as Level 4, can I activate scrolls on my spell list (assuming they have CL 4 or lower) without having to roll?

The wording of the ability seems to expressly allow this as it's not "+1 CL" but "+1 class level". A 3rd level Bloodrager should be able to use scrolls and make CL checks to use them. (This may be slightly unintentional on the part of the authors, but I'd argue so is it applying it to a melee class.)

Keep in mind that even w/o a CL, classes with delayed spellcasting still count as having their spell list from 1st level.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Bloodrager and Arcane Training All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions