Hold person then Color spray.


Rules Questions


The cleric in my party has successfully cast Hold person on the BBEG. However it is going to take a round before anyone will be able to coup de grace.

So I want to know. If I cast Color Spray and it stuns him for a round will that Prevent the BBEG from attempting a new saving throw to end the effect.

The subject becomes paralyzed and freezes in place. It is aware and breathes normally but cannot take any actions, even speech. Each round on its turn, the subject may attempt a new saving throw to end the effect. This is a full-round action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Kent Unsaid wrote:

The cleric in my party has successfully cast Hold person on the BBEG. However it is going to take a round before anyone will be able to coup de grace.

So I want to know. If I cast Color Spray and it stuns him for a round will that Prevent the BBEG from attempting a new saving throw to end the effect.

The subject becomes paralyzed and freezes in place. It is aware and breathes normally but cannot take any actions, even speech. Each round on its turn, the subject may attempt a new saving throw to end the effect. This is a full-round action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity.

'

I would say yes, it would disallow his chance at a save the round he is stunned. Stunned says the victim cannot take ANY actions and the hold person spell specifically says it requires a full round action to get an additional save, which he cannot do while stunned.


Saving throws happen even when one is unconscious or otherwise helpless. If the held BBEG fails his save against the color spray, color spray has an effect. If, after this, the BBEG saves against the hold person, it has an effect but does not end the effect of the color spray.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Normally you are right bu if the save requires an action but no action is allowed then there is no save.

As an example poisons require additional saves but they are automatic. No save is allowed.

The Exchange

Christopher Brunson wrote:
Saving throws happen even when one is unconscious or otherwise helpless. If the held BBEG fails his save against the color spray, color spray has an effect. If, after this, the BBEG saves against the hold person, it has an effect but does not end the effect of the color spray.

The difference being that the save vs. hold person - after the initial save - is an action (full-round) on the part of the target. It's also voluntary. (Enemies will often forgo a save when paralyzed in order to use a spell-like ability or other purely mental action, choosing to remain paralyzed if they are in no danger of a coup-de-gras.) If it fails vs. the color spray it is stunned and cannot attempt the new save.

Edit:
I was referring to generic paralysis. Hold person specifically doesn't allow any other actions. Edited for clarity.


That's actually slightly unclear, because "not even speech" is not as strong as "not even purely mental actions which you can take while paralyzed".


Well it worked. Managed to take that BBEG before he could take any actions.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Hold person then Color spray. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions