How are Meta-Magic Rods used?


Rules Questions


Can you use a Meta-Magic Rod if both of your hands are being used for something else?

Example that came up is a Magus using Spell Combat and a meta-magic rod.
Weapon in one hand, casting a spell with another, Meta-Magic Rod tucked away on his person.


You must be holding it in one hand to use it - which disqualifies you from using one with spell combat.

PRD wrote:


Activation: Details relating to rod use vary from item to item. Unless noted otherwise, you must be holding a rod to use its abilities. See the individual descriptions for specifics.


You might be able to wield the rod as your weapon as like a club o:


Casting a spell with a somatic component takes up one hand. Spell combat has you wielding a weapon in the other hand. (This is taken directly from the chapter on magic, specifically the part that describes somatic components)

Rods generally does not function as clubs unless specifically saying otherwise, and metamagic rods does not mention that feature.
(I'm considering the physical description on this page: Rods)

Rods generally has to be held in a hand to be activated unless specifically saying otherwise in the description (this is taken from the Rods page again, but this time from the section called "activatin")

So... Unless you get a custom made metamagic rod that also functions as a weapon or you cast a spell without a somatic component (either via still spell or because the spell doesn't have that component) then you cannot use a metamagic rod in conjunction with the "Spell Combat" feature of the Magus.


Lifat wrote:


So... Unless you get a custom made metamagic rod that also functions as a weapon or you cast a spell without a somatic component (either via still spell or because the spell doesn't have that component) then you cannot use a metamagic rod in conjunction with the "Spell Combat" feature of the Magus.

Spell combat specifically calls out that even spells with no S component must still have a free hand.


bbangerter wrote:
Lifat wrote:


So... Unless you get a custom made metamagic rod that also functions as a weapon or you cast a spell without a somatic component (either via still spell or because the spell doesn't have that component) then you cannot use a metamagic rod in conjunction with the "Spell Combat" feature of the Magus.
Spell combat specifically calls out that even spells with no S component must still have a free hand.

Well then. I guess I stand corrected. Then there truly is no way to do it outside of custommaking a metamagic rod so that it also counts as a mace or club.

EDIT: Talked to a friend of mine and he saw 2 alternative ways around it:
Quick Draw where you drop the metamagic rod after use and then draw your weapon as a free action.
Glove of Storing where you have the rod in your off-hand, and cast the spell with your main hand and then as a free action, retrieve your weapon from the glove do your attack(s) and then as a free action store the weapon again.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / How are Meta-Magic Rods used? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.