Using your bonus spells at early level


Rules Questions


So I am a level 1 sorcerer with a cha of 20. This gives me a bunch of bonus spells including levels much higher than I can cast. So my question is what happens to these bonus spells before I can cast them. For example, could I use a level 4 bonus spell slot to cast a maximized burning hands? If I had the spell and feat obviously. If I can't apply the metamagic feat to anything beyond the spell level I can cast, can I at least use the level 4 spell slot to cast a level 1 spell?


You don't gain the bonus spells until you are of a high enough level to cast that spell.

So as a 1st level sorcerer you would gain your 2 first level bonus spells. Once you reach level 4, and thus the ability to cast 2nd level spells, you would then gain your level 2 bonus spell.

The Exchange

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Bonus Spells from a High Ability Score: Can I use these even if my spellcasting class level isn't high enough to give me access to those spell levels?

No. You only get the bonus spells if your class level grants you access to those spell levels. You can't even use them for lower-level spells. See page 16, Abilities and Spellcasters section: "In addition to having a high ability score, a spellcaster must be of a high enough class level to be able to cast spells of a given spell level. "

For example, a 1st-level wizard with 18 Intelligence has (according to table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells) 1 bonus spell at spell levels 1, 2, and 3. However, he can only use the 1st-level bonus spell because as a 1st-level wizard he only has access to 1st-level spells (his class-based number of 2nd- and 3rd-level spells per day are "—", meaning "no access to spells of this level"). As soon as he becomes a 3rd-level wizard, he gains access to his 2nd-level spell slots and can use that bonus 2nd-level spell slot from his high Intelligence, and likewise for 3rd-level spells and bonus spells at wizard level 5.

Basically, ignore the columns for higher-level spells on table 1–3: Ability Modifiers and Bonus Spells until your class grants you access to those spell levels.

Sczarni

Gunn wrote:
can I at least use the level 4 spell slot to cast a level 1 spell?

Not until you have access to level 4 spells.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Using your bonus spells at early level All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions