Can you cast spells at less than full level?


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Adventure Path Subscriber

Pretty much that..

But for example; as a 5th level caster would a burning hands spell have to do 5d4?


Pathfinder Maps, Starfinder Maps Subscriber
"Magic" chapter of CRB wrote:

Caster Level

A spell's power often depends on its caster level, which for most spellcasting characters is equal to her class level in the class she's using to cast the spell.

You can cast a spell at a lower caster level than normal, but the caster level you choose must be high enough for you to cast the spell in question, and all level-dependent features must be based on the same caster level.

In the event that a class feature or other special ability provides an adjustment to your caster level, that adjustment applies not only to effects based on caster level (such as range, duration, and damage dealt), but also to your caster level check to overcome your target's spell resistance and to the caster level used in dispel checks (both the dispel check and the DC of the check).

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can you cast spells at less than full level? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions