Can a PC plane shift or teleport out of a forbiddance spell?


Rules Questions


The spell forbiddance states the following

Quote:


forbiddance seals an area against all planar travel into or within it. This includes all teleportation spells (such as dimension door and teleport), plane shifting, astral travel, ethereal travel, and all summoning spells. Such effects simply fail automatically.

Does this mean that a character could plane shift out of a forbiddance spell, or teleport out of one? or do those cases count as using extra dimensional travel within the forbiddance spell?

I can see either ruling, but I am inclined to say that a player could travel out of one, as the spell elaborates by saying into or within as opposed to saying all travel is restricted (as in the spell dimensional lock)?

please advise


3 people marked this as a favorite.

It also says "or within it" so any spells activated withing the area should fail to work.


wraithstrike wrote:
It also says "or within it" so any spells activated withing the area should fail to work.

Ah, I was taking it to mean that I couldnt teleport from one place inside the spell to another. Only because the reading specifically states those two cases, while the similar spell dimensional lock states instead that all travel is blocked.

I was just unsure of why this spells wording is so specific.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can a PC plane shift or teleport out of a forbiddance spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions