Burst effect and illusory wall


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

According to the rules:

"A burst spell affects whatever it catches in its area, including creatures that you can't see. It can't affect creatures with total cover from its point of origin (in other words, its effects don't extend around corners). The default shape for a burst effect is a sphere, but some burst spells are specifically described as cone-shaped. A burst's area defines how far from the point of origin the spell's effect extends."

My question is, is a burst effect blocked by an illusory wall that the caster has not disbelieved?

Grand Lodge RPG Superstar 2012 Top 32

No. The wall is not really there, so it does not provide the total cover (remembering the difference between cover and concealment) that would be necessary to block the effect.

Of course, if the caster THINKS there's a wall there, then he'll likewise think his burst won't go through, so he might aim differently. But if he puts his AoE there anyway (maybe the bad guys are right next to it), then it'll go right through without him realizing it. (Though I'd personally class that as "interacting" with the illusion and give him a fresh save; YMMV.)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Burst effect and illusory wall All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.