Living Monolith - DR


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

Regarding these two abilities:

Fortified Flesh (Ex):

At 3rd level, the flesh of a living monolith takes on the hardness of stone. A living monolith gains DR 1/— and 10% immunity to critical hits and sneak attacks (as if wearing fortification armor). At 5th level and again at 8th level, this DR increases by 1 and the immunity to critical hits increases by 10%. When a living monolith uses his soul stone to increase his size, these defenses temporarily increase by an additional 1 and 10%, respectively. At 5th level, a living monolith becomes immune to all diseases, including supernatural and magical diseases (such as mummy rot).

Greater Ka Stone (Su):

At 5th level, when a living monolith with a ka stone invokes his ka stone's power to increase his size, the living monolith gains the benefit of righteous might rather than enlarge person. The DR gained from righteous might is based on the living monolith's alignment. A neutral living monolith must choose which DR to gain from this ability. Once made, this choice cannot be changed.

Using level 5 as a reference point. The Fortified Flesh DR is 2/- that goes up to 3/- when using the Ka Stone ability to grow in size. The size change alters from enlarge to righteous might in how it functions at 5th level. This spells gives a flat DR of 5/(good/evil). Would these stack or would it be 3 for all but the given alignment and 5 for the specific alignment?


If you have DR 3/- and DR 5/alignment, it means you have DR 5 against all attacks that are not of that alignment and DR 3 against attacks of that alignment.

So if you have DR 3/- and DR 5/good, then all non-good attacks do 5 less damage to you and all good attacks do 3 less damage to you.

Liberty's Edge

I see, thanks!


No problem!


Actually DR/- Translates to Damage Reduction over Nothing. Meaning that nothing can get past this damage reduction. It is similar in effect to the Barbarian Damage Reduction.

Thus in this case say it was DR 3/- and DR 5/Good then in that case the higher Damage Reduction negates the lower one. So for as long as the Living Monolith ability is active, they have DR 5/Good and no DR 3/-


Rules citation for one DR getting rid of the other?


This might not be the best thread to reply to- it looks like a pretty cut and dry answer and response, and it's older than that milk that's been sitting in my fridge that needs to be thrown out.


Azten wrote:
Rules citation for one DR getting rid of the other?

There isn't one. You still have multiple types of damage reduction, but only the highest one applies on any given attack.

Quote:
If a creature has damage reduction from more than one source, the two forms of damage reduction do not stack. Instead, the creature gets the benefit of the best damage reduction in a given situation.


Leviathantamer wrote:

Actually DR/- Translates to Damage Reduction over Nothing. Meaning that nothing can get past this damage reduction. It is similar in effect to the Barbarian Damage Reduction.

Nothing except for abilities that specifically bypass damage reduction, like smite (good/evil/chaos/law).

Quote:
Thus in this case say it was DR 3/- and DR 5/Good then in that case the higher Damage Reduction negates the lower one. So for as long as the Living Monolith ability is active, they have DR 5/Good and no DR 3/-

Unless they are attacked with a good aligned weapon, in which case they do have DR 3/-. It's the highest in a given situation, which includes what type of weapon they are being attacked with.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Living Monolith - DR All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.