Nosferatu Blood Drain


Rules Questions


The Nosferatu template seems to break the Universal Monster Rules on Blood Drain. It specifies that it drains Constitution and Wisdom on a successful grapple attack. Nowhere in its entry does it indicate that this drain is actually Constitution and Wisdom damage instead of Constitution and Wisdom drain.

So, based on the Universal Monster Rule that Blood Drain actually does Constitution damage, should I treat the Nosferatu's Blood Drain as doing Constitution and Wisdom damage, instead of Con and Wis drain?

Or is the Nosferatu template actually dealing Con and Wis drain on a successful grapple? The Nosferatu template doesn't inflict negative levels so having it deal drain instead of damage might be how it compensates.

Liberty's Edge

The specific description in the Nosferatu entry trumps the general universal monster rules entry. The Nosferatu does ability drain.


Abilities do what they say they do. In some cases they override the general rule. This is fine, and intended.

There's quite a few examples of this in the ruleset. "Specific trumps general" is one of the unwritten rules of the game.

And not one of the dumb ones like "metaphorical hands".

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Nosferatu Blood Drain All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions