| kidray666 |
Alright, so I know that when you encounter a card that has multiple checks involved ( such as the villian Gogmurt ) any character at that location may attempt the other checks as long as the character who initially encountered the card can attempt one of the checks. My question is this : does the additional character who attempts the second check also "encounter" the card. In this example, would the get the "before the encounter, Gogmurt deals 1d4-1 Fire damage to you" effect? I realize it says "before the encounter" but you get the jist.
| Hawkmoon269 |
No, just one character is encountering the card. So Gogmurt only deals damage to the character whose turn it was. The other character isn't effected by that.
Notice that the description on the rules about allowing the second character to attempt one of the two checks defines the characters as the one "who encountered the card" and anyone else at the same location.
Only the character who encounters the card may attempt the check, with one exception: if a card requires sequential checks, the character who encountered the card must attempt at least one of the checks, but other checks may each be attempted by any one character at the same location.
Note: Tangletooth is in the same scenario and has a power that does require all characters at the location to encounter her. Each character would repeat the entire "Encountering a Card" sequence with her.