Can the Troubadours power help in combat


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Troubadour's power: recharge this card to add 1D6 to your noncombat Dexterity of Charisma check.

Now in the FAQ's it talks about skills being interchangeable with their subskills. So, in my case Seoni has the Arcane ability under Charisma, I got this idea from BGG user:269Hawkmoon who used this concept in an example in his guide for an ally's noncombat power to assist in combat.

I am just confirming that this is legal, and is their an example in Paizo's rule book or FAQ that confirms this is legal play?


It cannot be used during a Combat check as it specifically says noncombat.

If Hawkmoon's guide shows someone using an effect during combat when that effect specifics it can be used during non-combat, then that's an error in the guide.

EDIT: Ah, it looks like you've already got this discussed in detail over at BGG and was just misinterpreting something in the guide.


Firedale2002 wrote:

It cannot be used during a Combat check as it specifically says noncombat.

If Hawkmoon's guide shows someone using an effect during combat when that effect specifics it can be used during non-combat, then that's an error in the guide.

EDIT: Ah, it looks like you've already got this discussed in detail over at BGG and was just misinterpreting something in the guide.

thank you thank you, I have been thoughouly chastised and corrected over at BGG for my errors and here.....I hope I don't loose all my street cred playing board games asking such noobile questions.

AG


Dourden wrote:
Firedale2002 wrote:

It cannot be used during a Combat check as it specifically says noncombat.

If Hawkmoon's guide shows someone using an effect during combat when that effect specifics it can be used during non-combat, then that's an error in the guide.

EDIT: Ah, it looks like you've already got this discussed in detail over at BGG and was just misinterpreting something in the guide.

thank you thank you, I have been thoughouly chastised and corrected over at BGG for my errors and here.....I hope I don't loose all my street cred playing board games asking such noobile questions.

AG

Everyone starts learning sometime. We weren't born knowing how to play, so it's good to ask questions, especially when you don't understand something or want to make sure you do (like in this case). If you'd have never asked the question, you wouldn't have been sure of the correct way to play, so asking questions is good.


But I think you CAN use it on the check to defeat a Satyr, since that's not a combat check.


Yup. It's only a combat check if "combat" is one of your choices of check types to defeat and you choose it...or if that is your only choice. It's not a combat check to defeat simply because it's a monster, although with most monsters there is no other choice.

Sovereign Court

And just to alleviate any possible confusion -- even non-combat checks like the Satyr still deal Combat damage.


Andrew K wrote:
And just to alleviate any possible confusion -- even non-combat checks like the Satyr still deal Combat damage.

...unless stated otherwise on the card; and the Satyr does indeed state otherwise.

Sovereign Court

Well yes, unless stated otherwise. Does the Satyr actually say so? Maybe I misinterpreted the rules here, but I've played card abilities like "Damage dealt by X is Fire damage" as still being combat damage, only now it would be combat AND fire, so you could use armor, or something like Potion of Energy Resistance. Obvious exceptions being the Satyr, which I believe says you can't reduce its damage anyways.


Yes, the Satyr says otherwise. Any card that says "Damage dealt by X is Y type of damage" is a card stating otherwise. So it is no longer combat damage.

See this: http://boardgamegeek.com/article/14668040#14668040
And this: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2qk8m?Can-damage-be-two-types-at-once#16

Armors that have the banish/bury mechanic to reduce all damage can still be used against these other types of damage.

Sovereign Court

That makes that second power quite a bit better then. Having always played the abilities as adding the type instead of replacing always made the banish/bury ability fairly useless unless I rolled absolutely horrible with an amazing hand I couldn't afford to discard.

And here I thought had the rules for the game pegged completely. I've brought much shame upon my title as group rules lawyer...


There is no need for shame. Everyone is wrong at sometime.

Also, the only damage that (so far) sort of has 2 traits is Ranged Combat damage. You can use things that reduce Combat damage when dealt Ranged Combat damage. You'll notice on the Arrow Catching Studding Leather that it reduces combat damage, but reduces ranged combat damage even more. Mike talks about Ranged Combat damage in the Paizo thread linked above.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Can the Troubadours power help in combat All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion