Extra Die


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


Say I'm making a disable check of Dex+3 and use use a card that lets me "add an extra die" does that mean I add a Dex Die? Or a "Dex+3"?

Edit: NVM, think I've found my answer. "add only what you are told to add".

I get the die but not the bonuses attached to it.

An extra die in my case is another Dex Die - the Disable skill bonus is a separate thing that I don't get.


Just the die, not the bonus +3.

Rulebook v3 p22 wrote:
Add Only What You Are Told to Add. If a card adds another die, that’s all it gives you: a die. It doesn’t give you your bonuses again.

See this thread on BGG for more on that topic.


OK, good to have confirmation. We played this for the first time this past weekend and didn't open the box until everyone was already at the table, so we've been clarifying rules as we go along.


Well then, welcome to PACG. Let me offer you this guide which you might find helpful.

Here is the short version of why you get a die and not the bonus. Lets say you are Merisiel and have Dexterity: d12 and Disable: Dexterity +2. Your Dexterity die is a d12. You also have a Disable die, which is also a d12, because your Disable references your Dexterity. But your disable skill consists of both a die, and a modifier bonus. So whenever you roll your Disable die, you get to add 2 to the result. So the bonus triggers when you roll your Disable die. But a blessing only tells you to add another die, not another bonus. So no matter how many dice you roll, the modifier only gets added once.

Good luck on your adventure!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / Extra Die All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion