Can Emergency Force Sphere be used to interrupt attacks?


Rules Questions

Liberty's Edge

I'm currently playing a wizard character who uses the spell 'Emergency Force Sphere' as a way to prevent enemies from making attacks on him and his minions. I can't seem to find much detail in how immediate actions work and how they would apply to this spell, and was wondering what you guys think.

At what point does the immediate action need to be declared?

A: Between actions, but not 'in response to actions'.
B: After actions have been declared, but before targets/specifics have been selected. (ie: I'm going to attack, but I haven't decided who to attack yet).
C: After actions have been declared and the specifics declared.

If C is the case, does the immediate action happen before the specific action, potentially interrupting it? In the case of Emergency Force Sphere, if a creature Y declares an attack against target X, if Emergency Force Sphere is cast between Y and X does that make creature Y's attack target the force sphere instead for that attack? For all attacks that round? For no attacks, allowing them to switch to a different target for their first attack?

Tl;dr: Do immediate actions go 'on the stack' like in Magic the Gathering? Or does it work differently?


Immediate actions can be in reaction to something and interrupt it.

Example: Ogre declares attack on Wizard. Wizard must use Emergency Force Bubble before you announce whether the Ogre hits or not.

Keep in mind it's a standard action to dismiss the bubble and it blocks line of effect keeping him from casting on stuff outside the bubble.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Can Emergency Force Sphere be used to interrupt attacks? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.