Vehicular Manslaughter


Rules Questions


So the situation is this: a vehicle is about to run over a character that has decided to stand their ground in front of it.

The rules I found in Ultimate Combat are pretty clear about how to resolve things if the vehicular overrun is successful. However, I can find little to no solid rules as to what happens if the check fails. My assumption is that the vehicle suffers a "Sudden Stop" and everything that that entails. Does that sound right?

Also, reins under the "Driving Devices" table are listed as having an AC of 14. Does the driver's skill bonus get added to this while in motion?


If the creature is smaller than the vehicle, it's an Overrun attempt. If you succeed at the overrun, you basically "run over" the target; they just take ramming damage. If you fail the check, you still ride past, but you weren't able to hit the target. Ramming is used instead if the target is the same size or bigger than the vehicle. In the case of Ramming, the vehicle can be suddenly stopped if it fails, but in the case of Overrun, you pass them all the same; the difference between a successful or unsuccessful check is the difference between passing through/over the target or passing by the target.


Thanks Kazaan. That makes sense.


hehehehe

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Vehicular Manslaughter All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions